The Low Carb Low Down

Standard

There has been some interest in my previous post and several requests for menu ideas.

First of all, Google is our best friend. Anything you want to find a low carb substitute for, just type it into google and there will be some blog post about it or a youtube video on how to make it. We’re still learning and experimenting but I’ll tell you what we’ve been eating this past week.

Lots of veggies. I’m like Elaine from Seinfeld with my “big salad” but since the kids aren’t big on salad, we do big veggie platters with dip instead. If I set a large plate of veggies and dip on the table after school, it’s gone by dinner. Ranch is a favorite, or sour cream mixed with onion soup mix. Very low carb.

Tacos. I know, tacos? Three whole taco shells are only 20 carbs. Fill them with shredded chicken, salsa, avocados…we ate them tonight. De-lish.

Eggplant lasagna. Full fat ricotta cheese and everything, just sliced eggplant instead of noodles. I personally liked it better.

Tortilla soup. The only difference we made was that I literally counted out 9 chips per bowl. 22 carbs.

Beans. Half a cup is only 15 carbs. Measure it out. By the time I add salsa and cottage cheese and heat it up, yummy.

Creamy chicken not served over rice. Instead, pulse a cooked cauliflower in the food processor and sautee it with a touch of olive oil and seasoning. Voila, rice.

Eggs and toast. The key: Only one piece of toast. 22 carbs.

Cottage cheese and fruit. Look up the fruit’s carb count on google. Measure it.

Greek yogurt. 10 carbs per cup. Sweetened with Stevia.

Protein shakes with a twist. A scoop of protein powder is only 3 carbs and I add ice, frozen spinach and a variety of extracts to pep them up like mint, coconut or almond.

For dessert we’ve been making mugs of “no sugar added” hot cocoa and spraying on the whipped cream. 11 carbs.

We’re still new at this and there is a ton of information out there. Basically, I’m trying to fill us up on veggies, measuring out/weighing our fruit, whole grains and legumes, and enjoying the cheese. I’m scrutinizing labels and trying to keep our choices “natural” and not too heavy on the meat.

I’ve read the key to sticking with it is not to make it feel like dieting. According to our doctor, there is no difference in weight-loss whether your low carb diet is low calorie or high calorie, so go ahead and enjoy the full-fat ranch, coconut milk, sour cream and bacon.

Having grown up in the “low-fat” era, I can barely bring myself to indulge in these areas. My hand is practically shaking as I raise the bottle of Ranch over my lovely spinach salad with a, “I don’t why I’m doing this!!!”

But it does make the meals more satisfying. No one feels deprived. And it doesn’t really feel like a “diet.” Just more like a shift.

Okay, I just watched a youtube video on how to make low carb ice cream in a zip lock bag. I think that may be our new birthday treat tradition instead of baking a cake. I’ll have to try it out first, of course, to be sure it will be a success. Maybe even a few times to experiment with different flavors and add-ins…Here’s the link.

3 responses »

  1. I can’t help but notice that you are always bringing up your fear of full fat foods. For me…I’m more fearful of the low-fat or non-fat foods and what chemicals or substitutes are being used to make up for the loss of fat (and flavor). I guess it’s a balancing act no matter what you eat, eh?

    I’m glad your family is finding what works for you though. Sounds like you all have your year off to a great start! I’m happy for you!

    -Nikki

  2. The ice cream in a ziplock works great. I have done it many times at girls camp. The girls love it and it is easy. I also have a daughter who bakes Kale leaves and the kids eat them like potato chips. Good luck.

  3. A great addition to a low carb diet is chia seeds. That’s right the ch-ch-ch-chia pet seeds. They are chock full of complete protien (you don’t have to combine it with anything to make it complete!) and have more antioxidants than blueberries. They are excellent for any digestive issues too. They are hydrophilic, meaning they help you stay hydrated. They have kind of a funny texture a little crunchy and chewy at the same time. One serving is only one Tablespoon. I love to mix it in my yogurt in the morning with some nuts and craisins. Yumm! I feel for the transition you are making and don’t sweat the full fat thing, just make sure that the fats you are using are good fats and not processed hydrogenized, franken-fats.

    Good luck and blessings on the low carb eating!

    -Shelly C., Alabama

Leave a Reply

