A Good Baby

Standard

Ssshhhh. Jane’s napping. Just walk away real nice and easy like, and no one gets hurt. That’s right…

People ask me all the time, “Is she a good baby?”

The real answer is, there is no such thing as a “bad baby.” All babies are heaven-sent. But I know what they’re getting at. Some babies are just, well….higher maintenance than others. Spirited, if you will. Some babies simply know what they want and won’t take “no” for an answer. Prized qualities in any well-rounded adult!

So let’s just hope Jane grows up to be a well-rounded adult.

Jane is as good as gold when she’s being held. Even better when she’s being nursed. All I have to do is hold her and nurse her all day long and we don’t have any problems!

Obviously, we have a problem.

“Just a minute, my darling! Mommy has to use the bathroom!”
“Just a second, sweetheart! Mommy has to strain off this gallon of boiling, hot water from the pasta!”
“Momentito, my angel! Mommy needs two hands to chop these vegetables!”
“Honestly. Jane. Life if not that bad.”

We’ve tried slings, wraps, backpacks, and crying it out. But like I said, she’s a woman who knows what she wants and won’t take “no” for an answer. So we nurse and giggle and coo and the house is a mess. My left arm is disproportionately muscular and my left hip sticks out at a weird angle now…but my baby is happy. A good baby.

Sleeping in locations other than my arms is not her strong suit either. She doesn’t “transfer” well. That’s why all the shushing and the blatant threats about being quiet when she’s napping. Hey, I wasn’t kidding. Keep your voice down.

My little, ol’ grandma of a neighbor cast a loving look at the bundle on my left hip as we chatted out by the mailbox the other night and asked,

“So, is she a good baby?”

My answer, “Yes. If she’s being held.”

And with the wisdom that can only come via years of experience, she said,

“Then just hold ’em. Just hold ’em.”

Okay. I will. But can we invest in a sound-proof door for the nursery too?

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

