Just What the Doctor Ordered

Standard

After days of lying face down on my duvet, depleted by some strain of the flu, I kept thinking some brilliant idea for a post would come to me during my hours of solitude, rest, and dehydration-induced hallucinations. No such thing occurred. Instead, all I could do was pray for sleep, and when I couldn’t sleep, pray that maybe, just maybe, hoping against all hope, that the silver lining in this big, dark cloud of nausea would be that I could fit into pre-pregnancy jeans again when this was all over.

I’m not proud, but there it is.

And then something better happened. Finally able to sit up and take nourishment, I flicked on my computer today, determined to regain control of my life and blog, and found that the Deseret News had published one of my articles during the time my temperature was rising. But that’s not the best part. The best part were the kind, lovely comments people left!

Now, I’ve had my share of experiences with mean, nasty, online newspaper commentors, and I told myself I’d never read another one for my own sense of well-being and for the sake of my family, but these were lovely. Just the kind of pick-me-up the doctor ordered. So thank you, to whomever commented. They brought a smile to my sunken face and real joy to my heart.

You can read the article and comments here.

As a side note, the jeans actually did slide on. (Never mind all that muffin top business…they’re ON.) And they can stay that way too, so long as I never take them off again, ever–I got my appetite back today and a burger, fries and shake have never sounded so good.

 

One response »

  1. This was one of my favorites !I forwarded to the Primary music lady in my ward.
    When Sunday came around she was walking across the street to church carring her new Music Hat !! She loved it too.
    I Hope you get well soon, your mom had a bad bug this this past week while I was there !

Leave a Reply

