Veggie Tales

Standard

Whenever I ask someone who has lost a lot of weight: How did you do it? I get lots of responses: Atkins, South Beach, the Dukan Diet, Body for Life, Weight Watchers, etc… All of these have there merit and I’ve tried most, some for longer stints than others, but I’ve yet to hear someone of my faith reply, “I section 89’ed it.”

For those of you not LDS, I’ll briefly explain. “Section 89” refers to a chapter of scripture outlining our religious code of health. It is the reason we do not drink, smoke, or touch coffee or tea. You are welcome to read it (it’s not long) by clicking here.

Now, if you look closely, you will probably conclude that Mormons are generally  really great about avoiding the bad stuff like alcohol and other harmful drugs. But what about those fruits, veggies and herbs mentioned there? And the meat? What does it say again? That we should only eat meat sparingly and then only in times of winter, cold or famine and to do so with prudence and thanksgiving? As a people, there is definite room for improvement.

I’m not cold. It’s July. And I live in “the land of plenty” so why on earth do I feel like I should be preparing, cooking and eating meat all the time?

I gained 55 pounds with this last pregnancy. In fact, I’ve spent most of my married life either gaining or loosing those same 55 pounds. (Hence, 5 children.) Loosing the weight and getting back in shape is never easy. I need a game plan. So this time around I am looking to my religion to help me out.

According to section 89, I should be eating lots of fruits and vegetables “in the seasons thereof” and wholesome grains. Meat, sparingly. Very, very sparingly.

If you want a little push to get you off of a typical American diet, may I suggest reading “Fast Food Nation,” “The Omnivore’s Dilemma,” and “In Defense of Food.” Or rent “Food Inc.” to scare you straight. (I admit, I avoided watching that movie for a long time, knowing it would mean more social responsibility on my part, but it was time.)

So the game plan for me and my family is to shop at farmer’s markets, eats lots of fruits, veggies, and whole grains, buy local and/or organic when possible, save the meat for blue moon splurges, winter and famine, and do all of the above with prudence and thanksgiving.

Eating healthy can get pricey, it’s true. This has got to be the only civilization in the history of the world where obesity is a problem for the poor. So it must be offset by not buying any chips, cookies, crackers, snack bars, fast food, etc…Treats? Homemade. (And that means no using boxes.)

So wish us luck. I’ve been eating this way for a couple of weeks now and I’m slowly getting the rest of the family on board (they finished up the last of the frozen meatballs the other night and I’m not buying more.)

And a year from now when I’m back in my jeans and somebody asks me what I did to loose the baby weight, I’m gonna tell ’em, “I section 89’ed it.”

 

 

6 responses »

  1. Actually, while some of us don’t say we “Section 89’ed it,” some of us do say we are on the “WOW-E” diet (Word of Wisdom + Exercise!) Thought you might enjoy that. Good luck (to both of us!)

  2. Hey! I’m Bobbi Jarman, our husband work together. I love your blog! I am a faithful follower, but not in a creepy way. 🙂 I am reading this great book called. “The beauty Detox Solution” by Kimberly Snyder. It goes along really well with what you are talking about in this post. It’s easy to read and makes a lot of sense. Thought you might enjoy it!

    P.S I have also been juicing everything in sight and shoving green drinks down my husbands throat! He enjoys it secretly, deep down, I just know it.

  3. The weight is over (what I want it to be). So now, one to 89-ing it. And of course, do I figure out how to exercise with 5 kids in tow or do I sacrifice the already sketchy sleep of a mother with a new infant? Do the endorphins of exercise make up for the sleep loss? Time to find out.

    By the way, I enjoy your writing and my number 5 is almost 2 months old. I could really relate to your sloth and Eeyore analogies. 🙂

    • Two months and you’ve lost the weight?! I’m still in love with my maternity jeans, but getting there. Yes, the exercise does help with energy levels, but I personally need at least 4 hours of uninterrupted REM to make that a possibility. Fortunately for me, she’s a good sleeper.

      thanks for reading! I’m glad I wasn’t the only pregnant women to feel like winnie the pooh. Ha!

  4. I love this… I’ve thought A LOT about Section 89 in the last year and what it should mean for my diet. It is really really hard to imagine a diet lacking in meat when that is so uncommon in our society and culture. It is especially hard to convince my husband we should cut back on meat consumption when he is naturally skinny and always looking to gain weight. He thinks he should not cut back on anything.

    I am working on it… slowly. I’m learning a lot about cooking with beans and wheat and what makes a complete protein just the same as if you were to eat animal protein. I love the internet because without it I would have a lot harder time learning about alternatives and finding good recipes without meat. Please share if you come across some really good “vegetarian” dinners!

Leave a Reply

