Lady Jane

Standard

 

“Mom, I love Jane more than you,” announced Luke last week.

“You love her more than you love me?” I tried to clarify.

“No, no, no. I love her more than you love her.”

“Well, that’s a lot of love. Because I love her like a bajillion million.”

“Well, I love her like a hundred plus a hundred  plus a hundred (4 minutes later…) plus a hundred plus a hundred infinity!”

“Wow, Luke. That’s a lot of love.”

And he does love her that much. They all do. Whenever any of them gets chastised, reprimanded or hurt, all they want to do is hold Jane.

“(Sniff) Just let me hold Jane,” they softly sob. She’s pure, unconditional love. Like a pet or stuffed animal, she’s a soft and snuggly, no questions asked, happy to be held, bundle of love. She’s the thing upon which they can all agree. Whatever makes Jane happy–it’s unanimous.

Maybe it’s the eyes, the cupid bow lips, the hair. Whatever it is, she’s got us all wrapped up in it.

My sister-in-law took the above photo at our family reunion last week. When Jane’s doting father saw it, he asked me to send it in to a fashion magazine. “Why?” I asked. “Do you really want me schlepping our daughter all over the city, exploiting her adorableness?”

“No. I just want an industry professional to confirm what we already know: That she is the cutest baby in the whole wide world.”

“I think every parent thinks their baby is the cutest baby in the whole wide world, honey.”

“That’s why we need an industry professional to confirm it!”

Jane, you are a blessed little girl. From the moment you were born, you had 6 people absolutely head over heels for you. Oh, I’m sure the day will come when you’ll turn two and start flushing valuables down the toilet. One day, older siblings may call you a pest, even order you out of their rooms. But please know that deep down, you will always be our little baby. Strike that. You will always be our cutest little baby in the whole wide world.

And come what may, we will always, always want to hold you. You seem to know how to make everything okay.

 

 

 

4 responses »

  1. She really is a beautiful beautiful girl! Everyone does think that their own baby is the cutest in the world – your’s just might be though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

