Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go

Standard

Tough love. I’ve read that Parenting With Love & Logic book through cover to cover. How hard can it be?

Well, this morning I put it to the test. My oldest was having a hard time getting out of bed with the first bugle call. And the second. And the third. So yesterday I told him I was not going to keep calling for him and if he was late, I was not driving him to school. Tough love, baby.

Sure enough, this morning my lovely alto voice thrice called for the lad. In all fairness, he may describe my “lovely” voice somewhat differently, but then again, maybe not. Because 10 minutes before he had to be out the door, he swore up and down he “did not hear me!!”

For anyone willing to put ol’ Love & Logic to the test, be prepared for some serious dramatics, wrath, tears, weeping, wailing and gnashing of teeth. It’s not for the weak willed. It was like helping a patient go through all the stages of grief in 1.7 minutes: Denial, anger, bargaining, depression and finally, acceptance. But, boy! Was I amazed just how fast he could get ready!

Did it work? Well, I didn’t drive to school. He made it on time. But the true test will be tomorrow. How many bugle calls will it take? Stay tuned…

5 responses »

  1. I just love your posts…they make me laugh! arenting is a hard job…been there…got the T-shirt…the tears…the laughter….and then came the grandkids! lol…..Keep posting….love it!

    Barney Bear x

  2. I did the same thing with my seminary student. Worked like a charm. I used to send her little brother down to wake her but found out she would kick him so said that’s it. You’re on your own. As I say, it worked!

  3. Pingback: Is Dad a Mammal? And Other Questions Answered « Jams and Pickles

Leave a Reply

