Look to the Cookie

Standard

It’s true, my kids declare most of my dinners “not their favorite.” That’s their polite way of saying, “gross.” But there is one thing I make they are be proud of, even to the point of boasting about it to their friends: my chocolate chip cookies.

Today, Andy came home from school asking if I could pack even more of my homemade chocolate chippers in his lunch because they had gathered some 3rd grade lunch table fame over the school year and now he had orders for more.

What? A kid liking something I made? Multiple kids liking something I made? This is new. I have to admit, it feels good.

Now, I’m not one to hoard a recipe, as it was generously handed down to me, so here it is, without further ado, my now “famous” chocolate chip cookie recipe:

2 sticks butter
3/4 C brown sugar
3/4 C white sugar
1 egg

(Whip the above in mixer until fluffy, then add:)

2 1/4 C Flour (For the last year, I’ve used nothing but freshly ground whole wheat and no one’s the wiser.)
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt

Mix all together and add as many chocolate chips as you want, about one bag. Milk chocolate for special occasions.

375 for about 9-11 minutes depending on your oven. Take them out when just barely oven-kissed and they will finish cooking on the counter. Transfer to racks after a few minutes.

Note: I did not forget the vanilla. It flattens the cookies. You’ll never miss it. Yes, only one egg. Depending on how humid or dry your climate, you may need to play with the flour to get it just right. I grind batches of white winter wheat and keep it in ziplocks in the freezer to make things easier.

Can all these finicky third graders really be reeling over whole wheat cookies, you ask?

I guess if you add enough butter and sugar to anything….yes.

Happy baking. I promise you’ll never go store bought again.

5 responses »

  1. Pingback: Baking day

  2. So interesting about the vanilla–didn’t know that! I’m going to try my next cookie venture sans vanilla and see what happens!

Leave a Reply

