Oh, Bother

Standard

A few weeks ago I compared my gestational body to that of a sloth: A slow moving, energy conserving, sleepy headed sloth. Not far off the mark these days. But today I found a new and improved comparison. You may have already guessed our hero from today’s title.

I’ll give you a few hints:

  • All our shirts fit like cropped tops
  • Neither of us can touch our toes
  • We’re both a bit slow on the uptake lately
  • Part of everyday is spent in a comical quest for honey

That’s right, I have found a bosom pal in Pooh Bear. My kids aren’t even into Winnie the Pooh, but something about trying to start a mild exercise regime this morning made me feel just like that “silly ol’ bear.” (Up, down, touch the ground…)

Maybe it was the production of trying to lace up my running shoes (which mysteriously shrunk, by the way.) Maybe it was all that huffing and puffing just trying to pump air into the jogger stroller’s tires before setting out. Or maybe I just took a good look at the charming cast of characters buzzing around me during my morning routine, and realized what part I was playing.

For example, at any one time, I can have a bossy Rabbit, a sulky Eeyore, a timid Piglet, a carefree Christopher Robin, a spastic Tigger, and/or a wise Owl all sitting at my breakfast table together. And they like to swap roles with each other often. But lately, I’m the constant. I’m the one waddling around like a toddler (all weight on one foot, all weight on the other…) slowly getting things ready, deeply sighing “Oh, bother,” whilst looking for a little something sweet. Tum tee tum tee tum…

The fact that most of my tops fit just like his do should only aid you in a visual.

Perhaps I lack his same turn-of-the-century British charm, but I’m convinced part of A.A. Milne’s inspiration for his beloved Pooh Bear came to him during his wife’s pregnancy.

And I think my family finds their “silly ol’ bear” a welcomed change from the “Rabbit” impersonation I’m so good at.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

