Crazy For You

Standard

The TV is broken. Let me say that again: The TV is broken.

Nobody is sure what happened. The modern day idol and Dean were alone together for all of three minutes, and when I came back into the room the screen looked like a it had been digitally shattered. Not a scratch on the panel, but dozens of rainbow fractures emanating from a single point when powered on.

I didn’t want to scare my two year old into telling a fib, so I sweetly asked, “Dean, what happened to the TV?”

“I dunno.”

Again, brightly, “Did you throw something at the TV, darling?”

“No…..Look,  I fixed the movie!”

And that’s all we know. It’s been about a week now.

A blessing? A curse? We can’t decide. We vacillate back and forth on what to do. On Saturday we had the cable box unplugged and ready to go back to the service provider. We would say “no” to The Man!  But somehow Paul managed to putter and mill around the house so long, the cable office eventually closed. So we’ve been debating and waffling about what to do all weekend.

The pros: less TV time. As a result, Luke found the Crazy 8 cards and we’ve played about 100 hands since the incident. He gets up in my bed with me and we play and play until something else catches his attention. He’s even been a gracious loser when someone else wins (although I’ve still been known to throw a few games.) Something about the element of chance and the luck of the draw that takes the sting out of losing. He’s turning into a good sport.

The cons: no TV time. I admit it. It’s a great babysitter. It’s how I shower. It’s how I’m able to put my swollen, pregnant feet up each afternoon for at least 30 minutes in peace.

The pros: No more arguments that include the phrase, “I said to turn that thing off!” And I can survive just fine without Zack, Cody, and the entire gang from Suite Life On Deck.

The cons: No more family Friday movie nights. Well, technically, we could huddle around Paul’s laptop, but it’s just not the same.

The pros: Sneaking food out of the kitchen and onto the carpet has decreased dramatically. What is it with TV and food? It’s like one can’t live without the other. Did they think they had to make food sacrifices to the TV gods this entire time in the form of rotten apple cores and cheese stick wrappers, just to turn it on?

The Cons: Cost. Once you go large and flat, you can’t go back. And we like the idea of cutting the cable bill.

But Luke said something last night that stuck out to me:

“Mom, I’m glad Dean broke the TV, ’cause now we get to play Crazy 8’s!”

There. Decision made.

But then this morning he uttered this heartfelt sentiment, “Dad better make enough money at work today so he can buy us a new TV.”

And around and around we go…

 

 

 

6 responses »

  1. We sit around the laptop for Friday night movies 😀 We only use our tiny TV to play the Wii (which is very limited). It’s harder for me then it is the kids but we decided that the TV just is not good for our kids. They get way to ohyper after even 30 minutes of pent up energy from just sitting there. They are just way too hyper and I spend money on tonnes of crayons, paints and crafts.
    BUT just to make sure that the ‘do we or don’t’ we cycle keeps going, we do have ‘outside’ weather all year round.

  2. We had an incident where my 13 year old showed us what a MAGNET does to the TV screen. Very pretty colours-not so good for peoples faces when you watch a movie. It did go away but it took a good few days to a week. Just watch alien movies and you won’t know the difference.

  3. I just found your website yesterday and have spent the last two mornings reading all of your posts back to June! I’m due to have my first baby any time now and I love reading all of your stories. It give me some insight for what to expect with kids. Thanks!

  4. I am getting ready to instigate a no tv, computer or hand held games M-F (a gradual attempt to be a Tiger Mom). I wish our tv would break. I really do. I remember my mom threatening to put her foot through the tv. Some times I wish our tv would tip over and break. “oops, I don’t know what happened!”

Leave a Reply

