My Sew-Called Life

Standard

You remember that life sucking machine from the classic movie The Princess Bride? You know, the wicked contraption built in “The Pit of Despair?” I have one. It’s sitting on top of my kitchen table right now. It’s more commonly known as:

The Sewing Machine.

Every time I finish yet another sewing project, I think a sinister six fingered man in going to come waltzing into my kitchen and tell me in an eerie, soothing, honeyed voice,

“I just sucked one year of your life away. One day I may go as high as five, but I really don’t know what that would do to you. Tell me, how do you feel? And remember, this is for posterity, so…be honest.”

It was a pillow. A simple homemade Christmas pillow for Kate. She chose a bold hot pink, crushed velvet fabric at the store. I couldn’t refuse her. I decided to make it a huge heart shaped pillow for her bed. I had no way of knowing how unforgiving crushed velvet could be when rounding corners and trying to end up at the same place. I had no idea how much crushed velvet hates seam rippers. Between that soul crushing velvet and the deranged bobbin and the cheap thread that kept snagging…(sigh)

It’s done. That was my last sewing project of the year and I am putting my life sucking machine away for a while.

But before I take to my bed, let me tell you about how cool the pillow is going to look atop her heart designed duvet. And about the Jedi Knight tunic and coordinating belt Andy and I sewed up for Luke. And the…well, I don’t want to give too much away.

It’s Christmas Eve and I can’t spoil Paul’s surprise by blogging about it.

3 responses »

  1. I got it! Margaret #2 – now I have 3 of them…a little one to take to class and sew – a big expensive one and a kind of cheap and pretty frustrating embroidery machine to write the grandchildren’s names on their onesis…everytime I finish a project I look at it and sigh – “how can I give this away, it looks so homemade”…but I still keep at it. Remember your mom’s first (maybe she still has it) serger? Need I say more…The “sewing stick” has struck us and we will never get away.
    Love you so much! Margaret #1

  2. Dearest Lady Margaret. I feel your pain. My first effort at sewing was a blue A-Line skirt. I took the zipper out 17 times and finally succeeded ont he 18th try. My abilities in sewing have not improved much since then. Read your article about football that your dad sent to me. Very funny. You are an excellent writer, and a wonderful wife and mother. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to one and all.

Leave a Reply

