Wonderland

Standard

The other night we all went to one of those loud indoor pizza places with games and tokens. (You know what I’m talking about.) Somebody generously gave us an all-paid pass for our family to go, so we went.

I have mixed feelings about coin operated contraptions sitting under the soft glow of black lights while the dance mix version of “It’s a Small World” makes your heart involuntarily beat to its rhythm. I never feel comfortable. I’m in a constant state of worry that my kids will get lost in all that bling and commotion.

The endless buffet, the bottomless soda fountains, the self serve ice cream, the bling-a-ling-a-ling sirens of victory!

I felt like we were on that freaky island of pleasure from Pinocchio. When we left, I half expected to find some sinister looking, cigar chomping fellow in the back parking lot loading a bunch of Oshkosh wearing donkeys into the back of a truck.

It was like the kiddy version of Las Vegas.

The House always wins.

It’s a wonder to me how people pay good, hard earned money to go to places like these. An absolute wonder.

Decent pizza, though.

 

2 responses »

  1. My kids ask to go there at least once a week, if not daily. We rarely go and by rarely I mean twice in five years. Last time I took the kids I had a baby the next day. Try taking them again around your due date, maybe you’ll have the same success I had. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

