Mr. Mom

Standard

Remember that “I Love Lucy” episode where she and Ricky have an argument over whose job is harder, so they decide to switch places for the day? This is not an uncommon plot for most sit-coms. Of course, physical comedy and hilarity ensue, and they each have a new profound respect for what the other does.

Well, yesterday while I was down for the count, Paul got to play Mr. Mom. Oh sure, he’s watched the kids before, but never all at once and certainly not for three whole meals and a bedtime. But I will say, he did a fabulous job. He cooked. The kitchen is clean. The kids are bathed. And I was able to stay in my snug little bed and recuperate the WHOLE DAY. Oh, how I needed that.

I was starting to think maybe he didn’t find my job so terribly hard. He made it look so effortless. But last night, after the last fussy child finally drifted off, he fell onto the bed and said simply,

“I miss you. This job’s a lot easier with two people, isn’t it?”

Yes. Yes it is.

One response »

Leave a Reply

