Book Worm

Standard

I just got back from back-to-school night. I learned that Andy, my third grader, needs to do a book report every month on a book he chooses. Luckily, he is a little bookworm and devours books after lights out with the help of his trusty head lamp. (Best Christmas present ever.)

My quest is this: I need more books that will captivate, enthrall, and keep Andy excited about being a reader. He read the entire Percy Jackson series and loved it. He’s read every single Magic Tree House, every Horrible Harry, and every A-Z Mystery. He loved Diary of a Wimpy Kid. He read a lot of Eragon this summer, but I think that level of reading discouraged him a bit because it was so long, and after all, he’ll need to complete these books in less than a month. (He never got to finish that epic novel because he had to give it back to the library–there was another hold on it.)

So I want to know, what are your book recommendations? What are your 8 year olds reading? I’m browsing the reviews of Amazon.com, but I’m getting lost in a see of digital text and wordy reviews from people I don’t know.

Help?

11 responses »

  1. let’s see. I have quite the bookworm myself. In the same vein as magic treehouse there’s junie b jones, yes, it’s about a girl who is in kindergarten, but they’re still funny. Gregor the overlander series by susanne collins (same author as hunger games) Nick also liked Series of Unfortunate Events and Spiderwick chronicles. In the diary of a wimpy kid genre, there’s captain underpants. Eragon is a big book to tackle even for a much more experienced reader- both in content and size. Harry Potter is big, but is a much easier read. Same with Fablehaven.

    I hope this helps.

  2. Hey lady. I’m not sure if Fablehaven is too old for him or not. Bunnicula and The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane. Simon loves books by Hank Zipzer (they are sports books). We love ‘The Great Brain’ series…the ones from our childhood. I was just thinking of posting a kid’s reading list on my blog the other day. Maybe I’ll just do that.

    PS- I love peeking at your blog!!

    • Such great suggestions. We’re off to the library! Let me know if you post a book list. And PS, I like peeking at your blog too–helps me feel in touch with AZ. Do you ever print them out into a book?

  3. My 8 year old is loving the boxcar children series as well as Encyclopedia Brown mysteries. Yes on Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Magic Tree House, and all others cited.

  4. Fablehaven by far will keep his attention and was a super fun read. My kids all loved it as much as I did. Also. 39 clues on audio and the books are fantastic. You can get them at your local library which saves a little also. They are coming out with number 10 in a few days. I hope that helps. Also when your daughter is about 8-10 don’t miss anything written by Shannon Hale.

  5. What about Roald Dahl books, The Witches, Matilda, and didn’t he write Hatchet or The Hatch I can’t remember the name exactly. James and I have been reading Matilda together and it is fun for both of us. The others are both good reads from what I remember. Maybe kind of hard to read in a month.

  6. I like your approach to reading. We always had a hard time getting our kids to bed until we started rewarding them for staying in bed by leaving the light on for 30 extra minutes so they could read. Their reading skills improved tremendously and their love of reading increased. Reading for pleasure doesn’t come easily for some people and this is a good way to start. My kids would have loved to have had headlamps like Andy. Although I did catch them with flashlights a few times. Our youngest son fell to sleep so fast after he went to bed that he never read in bed like his older siblings. It wasn’t until he graduated from college that he started reading a bit more for pleasure. So I really do think you are on the right path in helping your son enjoy reading. What a gift you are giving him!

Leave a Reply

