A Quick Game of Squash

Standard

“Zucchini what? Muffins? From zucchinis? You gotta be kidding me, Mom. No really, what kind of muffins are you making?”

“Zucchini.”

“No really. What kind?”

“Zucchini.”

I can remember the first time I ever heard of zucchini bread. I was dumbfounded. Was it possible? It promised to be sweet and satisfying–two words I did not readily associate with zucchinis. But alas, it was true! I guess if you add enough sugar to anything, you can feed it to kids and get rave reviews.

Last week I harvested zucchinis from our garden the size of healthy newborns. They were gigantic. The garden had become overgrown (okay, so the weeds had become overgrown,) and I couldn’t see the camouflaged squashes until I couldn’t miss ’em. The only thing I could think to do with that many pounds of colossal zucchini was to make muffins. Lots and lots of muffins. They’re in the freezer now, patiently waiting for their turns at our breakfast table. Since I was already going crazy with the veggies, I tossed some shredded carrots in there too. Yum.

It’s like the first time I learned to add cinnamon to a savory dish. Can I do that? It doesn’t have to be combined with sugar? It was after that first Indian dish that I began to see food in a whole different light. Ingredients were no longer confined and cordoned off into Sweet and Savory categories. They were simply ingredients to be artfully used any way I wished. Cooking became fun.

Who was that first person to toss in a load of shredded zucchini into muffin batter? I’d like to think she was an artist… or she was just as bad at weeding the garden as I am.

One response »

  1. You post reminded me of the first time I ever ate zuchinni bread. I was a new wife and mother and really, not much older than those kids who hate to eat vegtables. But it was served at a church meeting (RS) and it smelled good. What the heck, I’ll try it. I went right home with the receipe clutched in my hand and felt very domestic as I whipped up a batch for my husband. I like your idea of putting in some shredded carrots. Sounds great.

Leave a Reply

