20 Minutes

Standard

Shhhhh. You hear that? It’s quiet. Dean is napping, Luke’s at a friends house, Kate and Andy are at school and it is quiet. I wouldn’t be blogging about this if it wasn’t such a rare occurrence. I feel like an explorer happening upon a rare animal in its natural habitat. I don’t want to snap on a twig and break the spell. I don’t want to do anything to make my presence known. I just want to sink down on the couch and breathe…

I have not been completely alone in my own house for years. Now that I think about it, I couldn’t even tell you when the last time was. Even now, Dean is napping in the next room. Sure, I’ve been in my car a handful of times unaccompanied, but not the house. I’m not saying this resentfully. Just an observation.

So like, right now, I have 20 minutes of peace and quiet until the first wave home hits. What should I do? I feel guilty just sitting here taking it all in. I’m tempted to scrub toilets, mop the floor, gut out closets. I’m so unaccustomed to this odd phenomenon, I don’t know what to do with myself. My head is spinning, reeling with possibilities.

I think I need to lie down.

Oops. Time’s up.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

