Furniture Envy

Standard

I just got back from IKEA. The land of duvet covers and disposable furniture. I wandered aimlessly through the 10 acres of displays, willing myself to pick a look and just go with it. But I can’t. That’s why our home still looks like our college apartment. Well, our college apartment plus 4 kids…

You see, when prices get in a 3 digit range, my palms get all sweaty and I can’t commit. I could never justify tossing out anything that expensive and starting over if I didn’t like it in a year or two. So whatever I choose, I feel like it will be in my home forever. (And these are IKEA prices I’m talking about. I can’t even walk into an Ethan Allen.) So I end up choosing nothing and come home to a bare walled, artless, rugless, plantless, hand-me-down furnished 4 bedroom house at the end of every day. And until I have “a look” I hesitate even buying frames and knick knacks (stuff in the 2 digit range) in fear they won’t harmonize with this fantastic, hip, yet timeless look that will reveal itself as soon as Nate Berkus knocks on my door.

Right now, our home is functional. Nothing wrong with that. I’ve visited enough third world countries to know better than to take these luxuries for granted. (As my mother would say, “you live better than did the queens of England.”) So true. But I long to make my home beautiful. It’s a primal urge given to all women: to decorate and accessorize. It’s what separates us from the animals. But somehow, I just can’t seem to do it.

It doesn’t help that Paul refuses to budget in any money towards the cause. “The kids will just destroy it!” is his credo. He has a point. Our tots have been known to scribble with unauthorized permanent markers and smuggle scissors out of the kitchen on occasion. (I bought Kate one of those gossamer nets for over her bed when she was three. She decided she liked the sound the scissors made when they sliced through the fabric better than the decor.) But if I subscribed to his philosophy, all our walls would be oversized dry erase marker boards and all our floors would be solid white linoleum all sloping towards a common drain.

Wait…a…second….

I think I just found my new ultra chic, timeless look!

One response »

Leave a Reply

