Confirm or Click Ignore?

Standard

Last night I got a ‘friend request’ on Facebook. This is not an uncommon email for most Americans. I have no idea who she is.

“We have three mutual friends?” I thought incredulously. I clicked on the friends. Hmmmm….still can’t place you. Is there a maiden name? It is customary to include your maiden name. Vital. I certainly don’t expect all my high school buddies to remember my new married name, let alone spell it. But no. No maiden name. I squinted at that tiny thumbnail photo for a full minute…..nothing. I have no idea who you are.

Now here’s the predicament: confirm or ignore?

A few months ago, when Paul and I debated whether we should join in the Facebook craze, we were dubious. Do we really want to invite every old face back into our current lives? That’s when we made this joint rule: if an old flame makes a “friend request,” politely click “ignore.” No exceptions. I trust my man, but do I really need his recently divorced college sweetheart perusing his profile, oogling over his most flattering photos, sending texts? No.

But I will say this: I have gotten to reconnect with fabulous old friends scattered all over the country, with whom I would’ve never otherwise gotten in touch. Now we send emails, Christmas cards…they even humor me and read this silly thing once and a while. I’m a Facebook fan.

But who is this person calling me “friend?” I just can’t place her! I’m not sure if I’m ready for this mystery woman to be included in my 438 closest friends circle, ya know? That’s commitment.

I keep thinking of that song by “The Clash:”

Should I confirm or click ignore now

If I confirm there could be trouble

If I ignore there will be double

So come on and let me know

Should I confirm or click ignore?

6 responses »

  1. i struggle with that occasionally too. For me, if we have a few friends in common, I generally click confirm. you can always remove later. I think some people like to befriend anybody remotely connected to them. it validates them feel good to look at that friend list and see they have 549 friends. Using the “friend” term loosely of course. “friend” could mean you shared 9th grade math together, and you once asked to borrow a piece of paper.

  2. Funny, on this comment section there is a “possibly related post”…How to cancel a friend request on face book …

Leave a Reply

