Radio Days

Standard

I’m just now getting around to one of my New Year’s resolutions. I don’t know why it took me so long, because it’s soooo easy! I resolved to become a woman of information. In the hubbub of diapers and homework checks, I seem to only know the news that makes it to my yahoo homepage. And half of that is celebrity gossip. (Another guilty pleasure–at my last manicure, a Mother’s Day gift, the lady had to actually ask me to leave because I was taking my sweet, sweet time under the nail dryer reading the plentiful supply of back issues of People and Us weekly.)

Back to my point: a well informed mind. Since they don’t stock salons with Newsweek, Time or the Wall Street Journal, reading is out. Paul is big on downloading books onto his iPod and listening on “fast mode.” He burns through a book a week that way. Me? I can’t afford to have those earbuds in my ears anytime a child is awake, which is all the time. I feel like I need to be able to hear them torturing each other, crying because they’re stuck somewhere, or asking me questions about their homework. I just can’t check out like that and plug into an iPod. Nightly news? It’s so sensationalized, I can’t stand it. (Yes, I did major in Broadcast Journalism.) So what are my options?

It came to me today. Radio. I tuned into NPR but I didn’t get great reception, so I decided to stream it from my computer. And voila! Crystal clear sound, no commercials, and a fun variety of topics. I just had it on in the background while I cleaned the kitchen, prepared meals, helped with homework and loaded dishes. It’s even on right now as I type this post. I have found out more about Obama and healthcare, the Sundance film festival, tackling poverty, even about the dangers of botox on the black market during these last few hours than I had all week.

What’s more is my kids haven’t ask me to change it! They win out over what we watch on TV (Wizards of Waverly Place) and what we listen to in the car (Magic Tree House Audio Books), but they do not as yet have a toe hold on what we listen to on the radio. I remember my mother was a big radio listener when I was growing up. The Jackie Olden cooking show, Paul Harvey and Dr. Laura are part of the soundtrack of my childhood.

So, stay tuned….

3 responses »

  1. I totally agree– radio is big for me, too. I listen while I make meals, do the dishes, get things done. It keeps my mind occupied, but I’m free to move around. I only find myself changing it when the kids might hear something age-inappropriate.

    Love you guys, hope all is well. Sure enjoying your blog!

Leave a Reply

