Austen-tatious

Standard

I just love it when Masterpiece Classics gets on a Jane Austen run. Did you all tivo part I of “Emma” last night? I just finished the last 30 minutes this morning on the elliptical. I got so entranced, my workout flew by…on level 4 (not my usual 15, but everything was so serene and the music so soft…) I just love, love, love Ramola Garai as the lead. She is my new favorite Emma (sorry Gwyneth.)

It just goes to show what an incredible writer Jane Austen was. She somehow gets us to like, even root, for a spoiled brat. Sophie Kinsella pulls that off as well with her “Confessions of a Shopaholic” series. The whole time we are able to laugh because we think, “well, at least I’m not that bad.” She takes our own faults and tweaks them up a notch so we can giggle instead of cringe. And then somehow our hero becomes heroic in the end and we all feel redeemed. Brilliant.

Also, set your DVR’s to record all of Masterpiece Classics this season because the are reshowing their renditions of “Northanger Abbey” and “Persuasion” later in February. If you missed their debuts last year, they were my fave versions of those stories. I’ve seen other remakes, and these are superb. But I still doff my hat to Emma Thompson’s version of “Sense and Sensibility.” It’s untouchable. Very worth the $5 it’s selling for at Target.

So that’s my guilty pleasure on Sunday nights. When the kids go down, I get into the chocolate chips and watch period drama miniseries.

Oh, I can’t wait for my Mr. Knightly to come home tonight.

Leave a Reply

