Growing Pains

Standard

This past summer, we got on a Harry Potter kick. We listened to the books on CD all summer long and watched the movies over and over. (Mainly the first two because they aren’t too scary.) Then the other night we watched Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince, number 6. It was the kid’s first time seeing it. They couldn’t stop commenting on how grown up and different all the characters looked compared to the first couple of movies. Ron was so tall! Harry’s baby face had turned into a tight square jaw! Hermione went from totally geek to totally sheik! (Boy, did that casting agent luck out or what!)

And then I could see their wheels turning. What will they look like in 10 years?! It was as if a light bulb had switched on. “If Harry Potter grows up that fast, does that mean I will too?”

Paul and I are about to celebrate 10 years of marriage this year. (Yes, we were one of those trendy couples who got married in the year 2000. It makes for easy math.) Anywho, it got me thinking how quickly these past ten years have raced by. And where will the next ten lead us? I don’t know. But what I do know, is that Andy will be 18, Kate 16, Luke 13 and Dean 11!! My babies will be grown in 10 years. Instead of tip toeing their way into our bed at 2am to snuggle up next to mom, they’ll be tossing their keys on the dresser and falling into their own beds, hoping not to wake us. Instead of looking for mom and dad in the stands and bleachers, they’ll be looking for that cute boy or cute girl to make sure they’re the ones watching. Instead of crying when I leave the room and holding onto my knees, they’ll be saying “see ya,” without a backwards glance! I guess that’s just the circle of life.

Not that I’m not excited to watch them grow up. Not at all. It will be fun to go on family vacations sans the stroller, baby backpack and port-a-crib. I look forward to watching them become amazing people. Contributing members of society.  I think I will really enjoy each chapter of our lives together. I guess I just didn’t realize this chapter, the “rosy-cheeked-tow-heads-all-shorter-than-me” chapter would end in just a few years…Darn that Harry Potter.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have some rosy cheeks to kiss and golden locks to tousle.

Leave a Reply

