Maid for Each Other

Standard

Kate has a new maid. He’s three and he’ll clean her room for the low, low price of a sticker.

This evening I found her sitting cross legged on top of her chest of drawers dictating short instructions to Luke, her humble serf.

“Put this in the closet. Put that on my bed. Pick that up and put it in my drawer. If you do, you’ll get another sticker!”

And to my amazement, he did it! Command after command, he dutifully obeyed. Then he approached his queen with a reverent “yes, your majesty,” and she placed another sticker on his jammies.  He was happy. She was happy. I’m not so sure I was but I didn’t know what to do. My eyes found Kate’s and I raised my eyebrows inquisitively.

“I have a maid!!!” she squealed in a stage whisper.

With a simple sheet of stickers from her stocking, she had solved her messy room problem. I was a bit disconcerted, but I left them to make my other laundry deliveries around the house.

Hmmm…Where are my stickers? How come when I announce generous rewards, nobody moves with the enthusiasm I saw in Luke? Then it occurred to me. She’s made it a game. She sat herself on a throne and drew an image in Luke’s mind. Brilliant.

Maybe tomorrow morning my kids will find me seated on top of the fridge donning a tiara and scepter. I will unscroll their lists of chores, uh- I mean, death defying feats, and promise to make them all knights once the mess dragon has been slain.

Think it will work? If it doesn’t, I’ll just improvise as the dragon.

One response »

  1. You have to know I smile every time I read one of your posts. And laugh. And just love them! I would love to play the chore-assigning princess at my house, but the dragon character seems to get the job done faster. I am “the meanest mom ever”–I have an image to keep up.

Leave a Reply

