Merry Christmas

Standard

"He came!!"

It is now Christmas afternoon. I can actually feel my blood sugar high what with all the hot wassail and homemade cinnamon rolls. I whipped up some eggs and bacon too, in the name of protein, but it couldn’t stop the rebel force of simple sugars flooding my system. I’ll be glad to make my New Year’s resolutions.

As for the big day, it was a total success! The sun had barely peaked over the horizon before Kate was up. She rushed to rally her brothers so the euphoria could begin! We had a great time unveiling our homemade gifts. I know you’re all dying to find out what we made. Andy made Paul a pillowcase to take camping. He picked out the flannel fabric and sat on my lap at the sewing machine. Kate made me a bracelet with pretty green and silver beads, Luke made Kate a tricked out coloring book (I helped him decorate a store bought book with batting, fabric and scraps. Dean got Andy a headlamp for reading at night and decked it out with his favorite football team’s paraphernalia. Paul made Luke a very cool sheath for his favorite plastic sword from a wrapping paper tube, faux suede, and glue gunned rhinestones. I made Dean a quiet book. His favorite page is the one where you rip and pull at the stuff, and that’s every page!

We’ve spent the rest of the day adopting Webkinz, dressing dolls and reconfiguring Mr. and Mrs. Potato Heads. Andy and I cried laughing reading “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” together, Kate and Luke spent a good hour transfixed by the Leapster 2 Pad, and Dean managed to find yet another candy cane every 10 minutes.

What I want to know is, how do the old and infirm get their Christmas packages open? We spent the better half of the morning with dangerous objects in our hands trying to peel, cut and tear off the plastic casings that imprisoned our gifts. It was more work than my high blood sugar could handle!

But that part is over now. The batteries are in and the trash is out. Soon I will vacuum up the living room, and that will be it for another year… It’s been a good year.

Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

